top of page

Chakras - What They Really Mean

Chakras are points of energy that are placed around parts of your body, and each one symbolises something different. Many people haven't heard about chakras, normally because it's usually a spiritual study. Whether you believe that they are a part of you or not, it is fun to learn about them, and also see how each one can help you balance that part of your life.

Root Chakra

This is the first of the 7 chakras, and is located at the bottom of your spine. Its colour is red which symbolises security and represents our basic needs in life and what keeps us grounded. When thrown out of balance, it can make us feel lost and disconnected from ourselves. Root chakra or not, when we feel out of touch with ourselves, it's good to start with something small that can help us remember who we are, and who we want to be.

Sacral Chakra

Number 2 is the Sacral Chakra. It is located right below the belly button. Its colour is orange which represents emotion and pleasure and is the centre of passion in the body. When unbalanced, you may begin to feel emotionally unstable, but whenever that happens in life, take some deep breaths, and let yourself feel whatever it is you are meant to be feeling in that moment.

Solar Plexus Chakra

Solar Plexus is the third chakra, and is found at the top of the belly button. Its colour is yellow which symbolises optimism, and connects us to our self-esteem and self-belief. When it is out of sync, your confidence may become slightly unsteady, however, everyone goes through self-love issues every now and then, and the more times it happens, the more you'll know what works for you to get yourself feeling back to normal.

Heart Chakra

Number 4 is the Heart Chakra which (obviously) represents affection and love. Its colour is green which symbolises growth and harmony. When blocked, you may begin to feel stress and emotionally drained, but there are simple steps to help with these kinds of feelings. First, remember to love yourself because at the end of the day you are the only person you've got forever, and second learn how to understand your emotions and how to express them.

Throat Chakra

The fifth is the Throat Chakra which is placed at the neck. It symbolises communication and how we speak our truth to others. When balanced, we are able to speak to one another peacefully while still being able to say what we want. Its colour is blue which means inspiration and wisdom. When blocked, we feel as if we can't find the way to communicate how we are feeling/thinking. When this happens start gently and find ways to write down everything you want to say before you speak it.

Third Eye Chakra

Known for its ability to connect us with ourselves and the universe, the Third Eye Chakra sits on the forehead. Indigo is its colour which represents power and sincerity. To connect with your Third Eye Chakra, close your eyes, take deep breaths and feel yourself connecting. Sleep is also a big factor in balancing your third eye as it allows your subconscious to take over. Many people find meditation a great way to clear any blockages on the chakra, but just taking time for yourself is also a good way to feel balanced.

Crown Chakra

Lastly, the Crown Chakra represents clarity and your higher self. Its colour is violet which means spiritual wisdom and modesty and is located at the top of your head. When opened, you will feel you are able to embrace life to the fullest and feel enlightened. In my mind, this is almost the graduating chakra, it can be the hardest to balance as it is on the deepest level.

bottom of page