top of page

Each Star Sign's Ruling Planets

At the very core of astrology, comes the planets and how they affect the zodiac signs. Each sign has a ruling planet that symbolises specific parts of them. The qualities of these planets have huge influences over the energy of the signs. Knowing your ruling planet can make understanding your star sign even better.

Aries - Mars

It's no surprise that red-hot Mars is the ruler of the feistiest zodiac sign! Aries people are known for their amazing leadership skills and unlimited amount of energy, so being ruled by warrior planet Mars helps them remain ambitious and move forward with power. Mars is also the absolute opposite of Venus, as Venus represents beauty and Mars is all about aggression.

Taurus - Venus

Taurus is ruled by Venus, planet of love, romance and all things luxury and pleasure. As Taurus is an Earth sign, it focusses on material things and trusting what it can see. Taurus people enjoy the finer things in life and aren't afraid to admit it. However, this planet does not represent desire, people ruled by Venus represent the need to be loved and appreciated.

Gemini - Mercury

Gemini (unsurprisingly) is ruled by the planet of communication, Mercury. This planet encourages those to speak their minds. They must engage their intellect in everything that they do. Those ruled by Mercury enjoy starting new projects and activities and getting to the root of any problem. They are the debaters of the zodiac. Mercury's orbit is never more than 28 degrees from the sun, which represents the mind never being far away from the core of the person.

Cancer - Moon

Cancerians really have been awarded by receiving their ruling planet as the Moon! The Moon is the matriarch of the planets. However, it doesn't have a light of it's own, so just reflects what the sun shines onto it. People ruled by this planet often need a bit more encouragement to set off on their own and stand out by themselves.

Leo - Sun

The Sun is the ruling planet of Leo, which is not a surprise! Leos love to shine, which is why it makes complete sense that they are ruled by the Sun. The Sun represents our core, who we are and what principles we have that make us ourselves. This is why Leos are the most self-involved of the zodiac. They are in touch with themselves and are proud of everything that makes them who they are.

Virgo - Mercury

Just like Gemini, Virgos are ruled by Mercury, which explains why they like to live their lives in a very specific way. Virgos are always trying to seek order and perfect their routine so they can achieve great things. Being ruled by this planet makes Virgos thrive when they are being consistent. Mercurial Virgo energy particularly thrives at work, making them always want to be improving.

Libra - Venus

Just like Taurus, Libras are rules by Venus, planet of romance and pleasure. Libras like to keep the peace and create partnerships and this is where Venus' romantic and harmonious side comes out. Those with a positive Venus influence are kind, compassionate and beautiful. However, those with a negative Venus influence are indulgent and vain.

Scorpio - Mars and Pluto

Scorpio's ruling planets are Mars and Pluto. Having these two ruling planets makes Scorpio a very interesting sign. Pluto is a very fascinating planet as it is entirely psychology-based. It is based on Hades, god of the underworld. Mars in a positive sense makes this sign irresistible. It represents desire and adventure. These two planets together make this sign controlling, but alluring.

Sagittarius - Jupiter

Those ruled by Jupiter are always on the move. They're thinkers and doers and are always hungry for more! They have incredible energy and are the perfect people to explore the world with. Jupiter's influence makes them incredibly adventurous and love to be out of their comfort zone. They want to take risks and be surprised where they end up.

Capricorn - Saturn

Saturn rules Capricorn and Capricorns love to rule! Saturn is the taskmaster of the planets that keeps everyone in check. This makes Capricorns very self-critical and hate when things don't go according to plan. They don't mind making mistakes as long as they learn from them. Capricorns love to be busy and need time to reflect on their past successes.

Aquarius - Saturn and Uranus

Aquarius is another sign ruled by two planets, Saturn and Uranus. Saturn wants to keep the balance and represents restriction and limitation. It is a very cautious planet. Saturn is often seen as the buzzkill of the planets, but someone has to be there to stop everyone getting out of control! Mixed with Uranus' need for change, these two planets can contradict each other, as Uranus doesn't like to be tied down by traditional power.

Pisces - Jupiter and Neptune

Pisces is ruled by the two planets, Jupiter and Neptune. Everything Jupiter does is big! A person with a strong Jupiter influence doesn't do anything small. Whether it's love, food or entertainment, they will do it on a big scale. Combined with Neptune's influence, (represented by water) it often makes those ruled by this planet see the world in a distorted way.

By Pia Louisa

bottom of page