top of page

Tarot 101 - The Major Arcana Basics

'Great things are achieved by people who believe'. That is one of my all-time favourite quotes and it couldn't be more true. Whatever it is you believe in, it is what helps you along your way, giving you some guidance when needed. Working with tarot has always been a great way to give me direction when I need it. So, today I want to share with you some of the basics of the major arcana cards from the tarot.

0 - The Fool

The Fool depicts a young man standing on top of a cliff, ready to begin exploring his spirituality. The meaning of The Fool is beginnings, creation and free thinking.

1 - The Magician

The Magician shows a man with all four suits of the tarot next to him (swords, cups, wands and pentacles). He is shown to be holding up some sort of protection to ward off anything bad, but there is something more hidden underneath. The definition of The Magician is manifestation, action and inspiration.

2 - The High Priestess

The High Priestess (my personal favourite) illustrates a women sitting on her thrown between two pillars with her back to the water and a balanced spiritual understanding. The High Priestess represents intuition, subconsciousness and mindfulness.

3 - The Empress

The Empress depicts a women sitting in a field with a maternal nature, although has quite aggressive tendencies. The meaning of The Empress is femininity, womanhood and abundance.

4 - The Emperor

The Emperor shows a man sitting on a throne with armour on under his clothing, ready to be a leader. The definition of The Emperor is authority, fatherly and a figure of leadership. The Emperor is also the card for Aries.

5 - The Hierophant

The Hierophant illustrates a religious man sitting in front of others talking with intense emotions. The Hierophant represents spirituality, wisdom and institutions. The Hierophant is also the card for Taurus.

6 - The Lovers

The Lovers depicts two peaceful people looking above to a higher being. The meaning of The Lovers is love, choices and affection. The Lovers is the card for Gemini.

7 - The Chariot

The Chariot shows a person leaving a city in peace with two guardians in front, one light and one dark. The definition of The Chariot is control, determination and discipline. It is the card for Cancer.

8 - Strength

Strength illustrates an innocent lady, gently stroking a lion. It represents strength, compassion and courage. Strength is the card for Leo.

9 - The Hermit

The Hermit depicts an old man walking alone with a lantern. Some people can also find it can associate with depression. The meaning of The Hermit is soulfulness, searching and guidance. It is the card for Virgo.

10 - The Wheel Of Fortune

The Wheel Of Fortune shows an active wheel of fate surrounded by all of its guardians. The definition of The Wheel Of Fortune is luck, turning around and karma.

11 - Justice

Justice illustrates an intense man sitting down, holding a sword in one hand and balancing scales in the other. Justice represents justice, law and authority. It is the card for Libra.

12 - The Hanged Man

The Hanged Man depicts a man hanging upside down by his foot, yet he is still at peace. The meaning of The Hanged Man is pause, perspectives and suspension.

13 - Death

Death (sounds very scary, but it isn't) shows a mysterious skeleton in his armour riding a white horse holding a flag. The definition of Death is endings, transition and closure. It is the card for Scorpio.

14 - Temperance

Temperance illustrates an angel with two cups of water in her hands as she is pouring the water between them. She is a women with clarity. Temperance represents balance, purpose and harmony. It is the card for Sagittarius.

15 - The Devil

The Devil (again, seems scary but isn't) depicts a devil sitting above two people chained together. It shows stunted emotional growth, as being chained to something is stopping from growing. The meaning of The Devil is shadow, sexuality and gloom. It is the card of Capricorn (that's me)!

16 - The Tower

The Tower shows an unsettling image of a tower being struck by lightning and people falling out of it. The definition of The Tower is change, awakening and adjustment.

17 - The Star

The Star illustrates a nurturing women pouring water out into a lake and onto land with a giant star above her. The Star represents hope, spirituality and faith. It is the card of Aquarius.

18 - The Moon

The Moon depicts two conscious dogs howling at a giant moon. The meaning of The Moon is illusion, intuition and deception. It is also the card of Pisces.

19 - The Sun

The Sun shows an active child riding a white horse, with a big gleaming sun watching down. The definition of The Sun is positivity, vitality and eagerness.

20 - Judgment

Judgment illustrates many people spiritually praying to a higher figure who is playing an instrument. Judgement represents judgement, absolution and perception.

21 - The World

The World shows an enthusiastic women in a circle, surrounded by guardians. The World represents completion, travel and achievement.

bottom of page