top of page

The 3 Archetypes of Tarot

When doing a tarot reading, there are always specific cards that people are drawn to. This is because each card of the tarot belongs to a particular archetype that they feel represents them. Here are the 3 archetypes of tarot, and which cards fit into them.

The Explorer

The Explorer archetype is where the tarot deck begins, with The Fool. Those who associate themselves with these cards want to experience all that life has to offer and will try to uncover the secrets about the world around them. These people don't wait around for things to come to them, they get out there and find what they're looking for. Explorer tarot cards include - The Fool, The Chariot, The Hermit, The Hanged Man, The Devil, The Tower, and The World.

The Caregiver

The Caregiver archetype has the most cards within the tarot deck, as tarot cards are primarily used to help people emotionally. Those who associate themselves with these cards live to help others. They are the helpers, parents, and nurturers of the friend group. These people are constantly selfless and self-sacrificing. Caregiver tarot cards include - The High Priestess, The Empress, The Hierophant, The Lovers, Strength, Justice, Temperance, and The Star.

The Creator

The Creator archetype is all about bringing new ideas to the world that didn't previously exist. Those who associate themselves with the Creator cards are constantly imagining new worlds and new theories, which they then work to put into practise. They are visionaries, non-conformists, and extremely authentic. Creator tarot cards include - The Magician, The Emperor, Wheel Of Fortune, Death, The Moon, The Sun, and Judgement.

By Pia Louisa

bottom of page